Department of Health

WA Health is now governed by the Health Services Act 2016 (external site).

The new legislation represents a significant reform in health, and is designed to modernise the way our health services are structured, governed and delivered; to promote better health, better care and better value to all Western Australians.

The legislation established the Department of Health as ‘System Manager’ for WA Health, providing stewardship, guidance and support to our health services using a collection of binding Policy Frameworks (external site) in 18 key areas of health service delivery, to ensure they provide consistent, efficient and effective services into the future. 

The Department of Health reports to the Minister for Health and Mental Health, the Hon Amber-Jade Sanderson BA MLA (external site).

Read our Annual Report.


The Department of Health is led by Director General Dr D.J. Russell-Weisz.

Since his appointment in 2015, Dr Russell-Weisz has steered the WA health system through its most significant reform program since federation.

Dr Russell-Weisz is supported by four assistant-Directors General, working in key areas of health, including: