Overview of the Australian health system

Australia is a federation of 6 states and 2 territories governed by 3 tiers of government:

  • Australian government (also referred to as Federal or Commonwealth government)
  • State/Territory government
  • local government.

Doctor preparing for surgery in a hospital

The Australian health system comprises a mix of public and private service providers. Funding is provided by all levels of government, health insurers, non-government organisations and by individuals.

The Australian Government mainly contributes funding via 2 national health subsidy schemes:

Additional services provided by the Australian Government include:


Produced by

Medical Workforce