Delivering a Healthy WA
Consumer Health Services Directory
  About this Directory | Corrections | Advanced Search |

Department of Health, Western Australia > WA Country Health Service >


Map of Western Australia showing regions

The Wheatbelt forms an arc around most of the Perth metropolitan area, excluding the southern metro area. The region extends from the coast north of Perth to the western boundary of the Goldfields and south from the Darling Scarp to the northern boundary of the Great Southern Region. This means that every major artery road entering Perth (except the South West) passes through the Wheatbelt.

The Wheatbelt has 45 local government areas and covers 154,051 square kilometres. Aptly named for its traditional industry, the Wheatbelt also has a diverse geographic profile ranging from pristine beaches to vast agricultural landscapes. The economy is based around the production fields of agriculture, fishing and mining, which are supported by the high availability of infrastructure such as water, transport and energy.

The population of the Wheatbelt is estimated to be more than 70,000 people with a progressing median age and shift in density towards the north-western perimeters. One of the noted idiosyncrasies of the Wheatbelt is its scattered population dispersion, which has hindered the development of an identifiable regional centre and resulted in the four sub-regional centres: Merredin, Moora, Narrogin and Northam.

With its proximity to the metropolitan area, many of the bordering communities of the Wheatbelt are experiencing an influx of overflow population from the outer metro areas and those in search of a "lifestyle" change, without sacrificing access to metropolitan facilities. The future of the Wheatbelt is being shaped around the diversification and value adding to the traditional industries.

View a detailed map of the Western Australian regions

Contact Information:

Location:  Shop 4/78, Wellington Street, Northam WA 6401
Postal Address:  PO Box 690, Northam WA 6401
Phone:  08 9621 0700
Fax:  08 9621 0701
This unit last updated: 13 Oct 2016, 4:28pm

Units reporting to Wheatbelt:

Hospital Services

 ·  Beverley Health Service
 ·  Boddington Health Service
 ·  Bruce Rock Memorial Health Service
 ·  Corrigin Health Service
 ·  Cunderdin Health Centre
 ·  Dalwallinu Health Service
 ·  Dumbleyung Memorial Health Service
 ·  Goomalling Health Service
 ·  Kellerberrin Memorial Health Service
 ·  Kondinin Health Service
 ·  Kukerin Health Centre
 ·  Kununoppin Health Service
 ·  Lake Grace Health Service
 ·  Merredin Health Service
 ·  Moora Health Service
 ·  Mukinbudin Health Centre
 ·  Narembeen Memorial Health Service
 ·  Narrogin Health Service
 ·  Northam Health Service
 ·  Pingelly Health Centre
 ·  Quairading Health Service
 ·  Southern Cross Health Service
 ·  Wagin Health Service
 ·  Wickepin Health Centre
 ·  Williams Health Centre
 ·  Wongan Hills Health Service
 ·  Wyalkatchem-Koorda Health Service
 ·  York Health Service

Aged Care Services

 ·  Wheatbelt Aged Care Assessment Team

Cancer Care Services

 ·  Avon Hospice

Community & Public Health Services

 ·  Avon and Central Primary Health Service
 ·  Brookton Community Health Service
 ·  Dandaragan Community Health Centre
 ·  Eastern Primary Health Service
 ·  Gingin Community Health Centre
 ·  Goomalling Community Health Centre
 ·  Jurien Bay Health Centre
 ·  Kellerberrin Community Health Service
 ·  Koorda Community Health Service
 ·  Lancelin Health Centre
 ·  Moora Community and Child Health Centre
 ·  Southern Cross Community Health Service
 ·  Southern Wheatbelt Primary Health Service
 ·  Wagin Community Health Services
 ·  Wheatbelt Mental Health Service Gingin office.
 ·  Wheatbelt Public Health Unit
 ·  Wongan Hills Community Health Centre
 ·  Wyalkatchem Community Health Service

Mental Health Services

 ·  Narrogin Mental Health Unit
 ·  Wheatbelt Mental Health Service