Delivering a Healthy WA
Living and working in Western Australia (WA)



The Pilbara is bordered by the Indian Ocean to the west and the Northern Territory border to the east. It lies south of the Kimberley region.


The Pilbara's area of 507,896 square kilometres (including offshore islands) contains most of the population in the west. The eastern third is largely desert with few inhabitants. The area features the gorges and river valleys of Karijini National Park and is home to two of the state's most valuable export industries, iron ore and liquefied natural gas.

Major towns

The major population centres are the towns of Port Hedland and Karratha.

Other important towns are Dampier, Newman, Onslow, Pannawonica, Paraburdoo, Roebourne and Tom Price.

More information:

» Australia's North West tourism (external site)

Back to:

» North of Perth
» About country WA